top of page

AWARD | Gazette 2.0 honored as ‘Best in Community Journalism’

Updated: Oct 26, 2022

Gazette 2.0 Editor and Publisher Sonja Reis accepts the Best in Community Journalism Award. 

You’ve picked up a winner.

Gazette 2.0 was named Best in Community Journalism during the Greater Pittsburgh Community Media Awards. If you are a regular reader, its something you’ve known for almost five years now.

It’s the sixth year for the Greater Pittsburgh Community Media Awards put on by Pittsburgh Community Television. The Oct. 20 award ceremony was held in conjunction with National Community Media Day. The evening was a celebration of community media producers throughout the region sponsored by Rivers Casino. WTAE-TV personality Andrew Stockey served as Master of Ceremonies for the virtual event.

“We’re grateful for this recognition,” said Gazette 2.0 Editor and Publisher Sonja Reis, following the awards ceremony.

“It’s nice to know that all the hard work put forth by the team at Gazette 2.0 is being noticed on a regional level. We appreciate everyone who nominated us for this honor.”

Each awardee was honored for their dedication to the noncommercial use of media for the public good.

The ceremony honored the spirit and principles of community media including free speech, localism and equal access.

The participating organizations have a combined record of more than 100 years of service to the community.

This year’s winners:

Community Journalism

Gazette 2.0

Community Radio

WPTS Radio University of Pittsburgh

Arts & Entertainment

Tall Trees Amphitheater – Dana Babal (MMTV)


Monroeville Community Day – Jared Robinson (MMTV)

Religious & Spiritual

Growing in Grace – Dr. Alfred Brown (PCTV)

Sports, Health, and Lifestyle

Pittsburgh Sportsline – Al Levine (BPTV)


Get to Know Your Elected Offices – Jared Robinson (MMTV)

Public Affairs

IMS Renovation Update – James Cromie (BPTV)


Healthy, Fit, & Strong – Amy Taylor (BPTV)

In addition to the winners listed above, a special award for dedication was presented.

PCTV honored Stephanie Smith with the Ralph Watson Award, named after longtime PCTV community producer Ralph Watson, who died in 2021.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page