top of page

Locals galore help to launch seniors

Photo by Izzy McDermott

Students Alexis Brinza and Janaya Hazlip (far left and far right) presented the Edward F. Meyer III Scholarships (Tri-State Furniture) to recipients Alicia Young, Chrystal Sircely and Asia Harper during the May 25 Senior Awards Night at Sto-Rox.

Sto-Rox graduating seniors received a variety of awards and scholarships during the Senior Awards Night event held May 25.

Many of the awards and scholarships were provided by alumni and local organizations like Athletes for Action and the Sto-Ken-Rox Lions and Greater McKees Rocks Rotary clubs.

Valedictorian and salutatorian were also announced at the event as Maranda Kelly and Chrystal Sircely respectively.


  • Rebound For Ryan Memorial Scholarship - Chrystal Sircely

  • Joseph Yevich Scholarship - Chrystal Sircely

  • Darcy A. Mueller Memorial Scholarship - Kacy Ann Tibby, Onyja Harrison and Trinity Griffin

  • Athletes of Action Scholarship - Trinity Griffin and Asia Harper

  • Edward F. Meyer III Scholarship - Alicia Young, Chrystal Sircely and Asia Harper

  • NEED Scholarship - Chrystal Sircely and A’janae Monroe

  • Society of Women Engineers Scholarship - Heidi Hufnagel

  • John Rackley Memorial Scholarship/McKees Rocks Rotary - Maranda Kelly

  • Sto-Rox Hall of Fame Scholarship - Asia Harper

  • Jimmy Lind Hall of Fame Scholarship - Alicia Young and O’Nyja Harrison

  • Layton Matthews Hall of Fame Scholarship - Trinity Griffin

  • Anthony J. and Kathryn Trapuzzano Memorial Scholarship - Maranda Kelly

  • Lions Club Scholarships - Asia Harper, Alicia Young, Heidi Hufnagel, Kacy-Ann Tibby, Lamont Williams and Jahstyce Bates


  • Dennis James Alumni Award - Maranda Kelly

  • 90/90 Scholars Award - Maranda Kelly, Chrystal Sircely, Kacy Ann Tibby, Asia Harper, A’janae Monroe, Emma Pfennigwerth and Amaria Archie

  • Peter Leone, Sr. Student-Athlete Award - Jaymar Pearson

U.S. Marine Corp

  • Distinguished Male Athlete - Jaymar Pearson

  • Distinguished Female Athlete - Asia Harper

  • Scholastic Excellence - Maranda Kelly

  • Semper Fidelis Award for Music - Chrystal Sircely

Challenge Program

  • Attendance - David King

  • STEM - Amaria Archie

  • Community Service - Asia Harper

  • Academic Improvement - Treshaun Barron

  • Academic Excellence - A’janae Monroe

Subject Awards

  • English - Maranda Kelly

  • Social Studies - Maranda Kelly and Chrystal Sircely

  • Math - Maranda Kelly

  • Science - Kacy Ann Tibby

  • Business - Maranda Kelly

  • Art - Amaria Archie

  • Technical Education - Nyaiah Jackson

  • Marching Band - Kelsi Bateman

  • Concert Band - Maranda Kelly, Chrystal Sircely and Lamont Williams

  • Chorus: Amaria Archie, Chrystal Sircely and Lamont Williams

Athletic/Club Awards

  • Boys Basketball - Corey Simmons

  • Girls Basketball - Alicia Young

  • Boys Track - Jaymar Pearson

  • Girls Track - Lasaia Williams

  • Cheerleader - O’nyja Harrison

  • Vikette - Amaria Archie

  • Football - Tamar Hull

  • Volleyball - Alicia Young

Gold Pin Awards (All A’s for a complete high school year or more)

  • Four Year - Maranda Kelly, Chrystal Sircely and A’janae Monroe

  • Three Year - Kacy Ann Tibby

  • Two Year - Emma Pfennigwerth

  • One Year - Kim Bair, Alex Deem, O’Nyja Harrison and Dezarai Wilkerson



bottom of page